Obedience and Exactness

A while back I got to thinking about a couple of scriptures in the Book of Mormon.  One in reference to Ammon and the other to the 2000 stripling warriors.

Alma 18:10  Now when king Lamoni heard that Ammon was preparing his horses and his chariots he was more astonished, because of the faithfulness of Ammon, saying: Surely there has not been any servant among all my servants that has been so faithful as this man; for even he doth remember all my commandments to execute them.

Alma 57:21  Yea, and they did obey and observe to perform every word of command with exactness; yea, and even according to their faith it was done unto them; and I did remember the words which they said unto me that their mothers had taught them.

I know this is a bit of a dichotomy given I’m Green (Insight Personality Instrument) and prone to question authority, not follow the rules or norms unless I see the reason, and tend to question everything before moving forward.

Having said this, I am striving to have faith in those things I don’t understand and move forward with them and to remember all of the Lord’s commandments and follow them with exactness.

I am striving to extend this principle in to all facets of my life.  While working at Allsnax I worked hard to do all that I was asked with exactness.

So that is my thought for the week.

One comment

  1. Amber

    What is interesting about this is a lot of times I find myself having a strong desire to follow commandments with exactness and I am in the process of doing so, but I then get distracted by other, not-so-good things, like (perfect example) the internet. I will be getting onto LDS.org so I can do my scripture study, and I get distracted by my email or my blog or something. This reminds me of an article in this months Ensign about how technology can disrupt revelation, but that is a different topic. Anyways, when I finally get back on track to obeying, I have forgotten what it was that I was supposed to be following with exactness. So yes, I agree this is an important principle, and one that I can DEFINITELY work on.

Leave a Reply

